Beerschot - Zulte Waregem 1-2

After a great game of football Beerschot were left empty handed despite being the better team throughout the match, impressing with attacking and entertaining football and creating a handful of good scoring opportunities. Zulte Waregem however were clinical on the break with goals from Vossen and Geno. Ayouba Kosiah scored for our Mannekes and was unlucky when a late header came off the post, denying Beerschot a well earned draw.

The first half hour Beerschot were well in the driving seat with brilliant combinations, entertaining football and chances for Reyners and Tshimanga. Goalkeeper Bostyn saved on both occasions. At the other side Gano threatened twice, his first shot going wide, his second saved by Matijas.

Kosiah was Beerschot's most dangerous striker. His goal was disallowed for offside however. On the break Zulte Waregem broke the deadlock: Traore crossing and Vossen heading home. Beerschot reacted immediately and when Konstantopoulos was fouled in the box the ref put the ball on the pot. Kosiah calmly drove the penalty in the net.

Cold shower for Beerschot early in the second half when Gano's header went in at the far post after Matijas had palmed away a dangerous shot in corner. Again Beerschot's reaction was strong and overpowering. Reyners however couldn't finish in a one on one with the visiting goalkeeper. Zulte Waregem didn 't get away under Beerschot's pressure but for one counter, but Gano was denied by both Matijas and Matthys.

Also in the last quarter of the game Beerschot put the pressure on and deserved an equaliser. Pauwels and Reyners saw their shots from the edge of the box saved and Kosiah was unlucky when his header came off the post after Keita's cross.

Beerschot: Matijas, Matthys, Reyners (’82 Kieta), Alhassan, Kosiah, Verlinden (’73 Pauwels), Sanusi, Tshimanga (’73 Weymans), Cagro, Konstantopoulos, Michez.
Zulte Waregem: Bostyn, Vossen, Traore, Brüls, Ciranni, Tambedou, Savic, Vormer, Willen, Bagan, Gano
Goals: ’28 Vossen (0-1), ’38 Kosiah (1-1), ’53 Gano (1-2)

Jupiler Pro League

1 K. Beerschot V.A. 26 pts
2 SV Zulte Waregem 23 pts
3 K.M.S.K Deinze 23 pts
4 Patro Eisden Maasmechelen 22 pts
5 SK Lommel 21 pts