Lokeren – Beerschot 3-3 (3-5 op penalties)

Beerschot are through to the next round of the Belgian FA Cup after a spectacular and entertaining encounter with six goals, an own goal, an equaliser in the very last minute and a thrilling penalties series in which goalkeeper Matijas saved a crucial spot kick. Our Mannekes will know their next opponent after the draw on Monday afternoon 

A very eager home team started fast and was dangerous early on but Van Aerschot's shot was saved by Matijas. Beerschot responded werll with a rush from Michez who left two Lokeren defenders behind and placed the ball in the far corner. A beautiful opener. A couple of minutes later Nzita was unlucky when his drive came back off the post. At the other end, and just before the break, Matijas denied Lokeren's equaliser.

That equaliser came early in the second half when our ex player Alex Maes tipped in a cross at the far post. For a moment it looked as if Beerschot were losing the plot but when Cagro came on we took over midfield. Cagro also had an important foot in Beerschot's second goal when his ball reached Reyners whose shot went in via a Lokeren defender. And Beerschot sailed on... and scored a third when Nzouanga headed in a high free kick ball from Matthys. 3-1 up, the game seemed in the bag for our Mannekes.

Wrong. In an impressive final twenty minutes a courageous Lokeren bounced back and scored through Lambo and Janssen; that equaliser in the very last minute of normal time. Nothing much happened in extra time. The heat took its toll, the tempo went down and only Sanusi threatened with a free kick while Matijas palmed away a late Lokeren winner from under the crossbar.

Penalties had to decide this entertaining game of football... and it was our goakeeper Matijas who finally claimed the Man of the Match award by saving Lokeren's second spotkick while Beerschot were faultless from eleven metres. A perfect ending!

Lokeren: Merckx, El Banouhi, Dianganga, Boujouh, Reuten, Van Moerzeke, Maes, Janssen, Tshimanga, Cassaert, Van Aerschot.

Beerschot: Matijas, Matthys, Reyners, Kosiah, Verlinden, Sanusi, Nzita, Tshimanga (‘4 Tshimanga), Pauwels (’58 Weymans), Nzouango, Michez (’58 Cagro).

Goals: ’19 Michez (0-1), ’52 Maes (1-1), ’60 Dianga (Eigen doelpunt 1-2), ’70 Nzouango (1-3), ’80 Lambo (2-3), ’90 Janssen (3-3)

Jupiler Pro League

1 K. Beerschot V.A. 50 pts
2 SK Lommel 48 pts
3 K.M.S.K Deinze 46 pts
4 F.C.V. Dender E.H 45 pts
5 Patro Eisden Maasmechelen 43 pts