Beerschot - Fortuna Sittard: 0-0 (4-2 op penalty's)

Beerschot have their first trophy of the season under their belt. Andreas Wieland's team drew 0-0 with Dutch Eredivisie outfit Fortuna Sittard and were the better team in the penalties epilogue. Goalkeeper Davor Matijas was the hero of the night with two remarkable spotkick saves.

The first half was rather disappointing with ust one 'on target' shot from Pauwels. All the excitement was obviously reserved for after the break. First the visitors were reduced to ten men when Ferati was sent off for a ridiculous tackle on the ankles of Michez. Beerschot didn't take advantage of this "one man more" situation rightaway and even had to be on guard for the Dutch breakaway football. Matijas saved from Halilovic.

Beerschot responded well and then took control of the game. Kosiah came close and also Tshimanga - after a nice set up with Kosiah - tried his luck. The last scoring opportunity of the night was for Verlinden but Fortuna goalie Pandur denied our winger.

Just like last year against FC Eindhoven penalties decided the outcome of this game. Davor Matijas was crowned Beerschot's hero with two brilliant penalty saves. After Ryan Sanusi had put his spotkick wide Matthys, Reyners, Tshimanga and Michez all scored from 11 metres in a 4-2 victory. So the "Memorial Marc Steenackers" trophy stays in the Olympic Stadium for the second year running.

Beerschot: Matijas, Matthys, Reyners, Alhassan, Kosiah (’86 Keita), Sanusi, Weymans (’60 Tshimanga), Pauwels (’60 Verlinden), Van Himbeeck (’77 De Stobbeleir), Konstantopoulos, Michez

Jupiler Pro League

1 K. Beerschot V.A. 50 pts
2 SK Lommel 48 pts
3 K.M.S.K Deinze 46 pts
4 F.C.V. Dender E.H 45 pts
5 Patro Eisden Maasmechelen 43 pts